September 27, 2023

Mangaluru: Comedy Company Mangalore had organised a Short Play Competition for invited teams, titled ‘Kar Natak’, on the 27th and 28th of May, 2023. This competition was the dream of their beloved companion, Sunil Crasta. 11 theatre troupes from Mangalore and Udupi participated in this competition, and 10 senior Konkani artists were also felicitated on this occasion.

The Grand Closing Ceremony of ‘Kar Natak’ was held on September 24, 2023, at the LCRI A/C Auditorium of St. Aloysius College, Mangalore. The programme began with Sunil Crasta’s children, Sian and Darren, along with his wife, Mrs. Linet Crasta, unveiling the ‘Kar Natak. Before the stage programme, a comedy play ‘Jugari’ was presented by Astitva® Mangalore.

Rev. Fr. Praveen Martis and Mr. Vijay Kumar Kodialbail were the Chief Guests, while Mr. Walter Nandalike, Mr. Santosh Sequeira, and CA Olvin Rodrigues were present as the Guests of Honour. The honourable jury—Rev. Fr Francis Rodrigues, Mr. Joel Pereira, and Mr. Denis Monteiro were also present on the dias. Sunil Crasta’s wife, Mrs. Linet Crasta, was also present as a special guest.

The list of the winners is as follows:

Individual category:
Best Actor: Prakash K. (Varesdar)
Best Actress: Sweedal D’Souza (Varesdar)
Best Supporting Actor: Donna D’Souza (Sorya Vyaparicho Duddu)
Best Music: Clanwin Fernandes (Nan Laingika Tollilali)
Best Direction: Christopher D’Souza Neenasam (Nan Laingika Tollilali)
Best Story: Chafra D’Costa (Mhojya Putacho Kinnkullo)
Jury’s Favourite Role: Kiara Pereira (Mhojya Putacho Kinnkullo)

To encourage female writers, a special prize was awarded to the only female writer and director in the entire competition – Preeti Martha D’Souza (Matiyecho Sangh)

‘Logos Theatre’ won the first prize worth Rs. 40,000/- for the play ‘Nan Laingika Tollilali’, ‘Rang Thikam’ won the second prize worth Rs. 30,000/- for the play ‘Sorya Vyaparicho Duddu’ and ‘Utsahi Kalakar Gantalkatte’ won the third prize worth Rs. 20,000/- for the play ‘Mhojya Putacho Kinnkulo’.

A discussion was held with Ashwin D’Costa and Wencita Dias, the lead actors of ‘Osmitay’ movie and its entire cast. The organisers served jackfruit gariyo and kashaya to the audience.

Lancy Lobo Bantwal welcomed the gathering, and Nellu Permannur proposed the vote of thanks. Alwyn Danthy Pernal and Titus Noronha Taccode compered the programme.

Kar Natak’s Grand Closing Ceremony was a huge success due to the efforts of Comedy Company members – Alwyn C. Veigas, Raveen Martis and Maria Joyce D’Souza.