Librarians Day Celebrated at St Agnes College (Autonomous), Mangaluru – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Librarians Day Celebrated at St Agnes College (Autonomous), Mangaluru

August 14, 2023

Mangaluru: St Agnes College (Autonomous), Mangaluru, celebrated Librarians Day on August 12, 2023. “Dr. Ranganathan is a role model for researchers for his inclination and motivation in the field of Library Science” said the Chief Guest, Dr Shylarani B, Chief Librarian of Government First Grade College for Women, Balmatta, Mangalore, during the Librarians Day Celebration held in memory of Dr S. R. Ranganathan, organized by the St. Agnes College Library. She acknowledged his exceptional dedication and contributions to transforming the state of libraries and proposing the 5 Laws of Library Science. In the context of the digital era, she emphasized the significance of reading books as an enduring source of knowledge and wisdom.

Dr Sureshramana Mayya, Research Professor, Institute of Commerce and Management, Srinivas University, highlighted the crucial roles that libraries play in today’s world in education and research development.

Sr Carmel Rita, Guest of Honour, speaking on the occasion, highlighted the advanced facilities available for students and researchers in the library and how the contribution of the librarian of the college, Dr Vishala has made remarkable improvements for the students and researchers.

Sr Dr Venissa A.C. the principal, said in her presidential address that “research is the order of today’s contemporary world”. She also stressed the value of reflection and rejuvenation while engaging in reading.

Sr Dr Vinora A.C., Coordinator of the PG Center, and Sr Clera A.C. were also present. On this occasion, students were awarded prizes for participating in the Book Review Video Competition.

Following the formal program, a training session was organized by the resource person, Dr Sureshramana Mayya, on Mendeley, a reference manager that aids research and project work.

Dr Vishala, Librarian, welcomed the gathering, and Dr Kavyashree B., Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, proposed the vote of thanks, Ms Anish Defni Dsouza, I MBA Compered the programme.