CSA hosts first ever Christian Premier League, Badminton Tournament CPL 2024 Season 1 – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

CSA hosts first ever Christian Premier League, Badminton Tournament CPL 2024 Season 1

January 17, 2024

Mangaluru: The Christian Sports Association organized the first-ever Christian Badminton Premier League Tournament on January 14, 2024, at Fr. Muller’s Indoor Stadium. The inaugural function was graced by Mr Anil Lobo, Chairman of MCC Bank, and Mr Ronald Dsouza, Founder and Executive Director of Leksa Lighting Technologies Pvt. Ltd., as guests of honor. In his inaugural address, Mr Lobo urged the association to host more events in the coming days to bring the community together.

Melvin Peres hosted the programme. Ajay Terrence welcomed the gathering. The convener, Arun Baptist, briefed about the tournament. President John Pais  thanked everyone for their presence, support, and wishes. Secretary Lawrence Crasta and members Anil Pinto and Agnel D’Souza were present.

Six enthusiastic teams participated in the tournament and displayed their exceptional talents. 1. Stellar Smashers, Mangalore 2. Red Indians, Mangalore 3. Shuttle Blockers, Mangalore 4. Pais Shuttlers, Karkala 5. Roy Rockers, Udupi 6. Sports Garage, Madanthyar.

In an exciting finale, Roy Rockers, Udupi, emerged victorious, showcasing exceptional skills, while Shuttle Blockers, Mangalore, demonstrated commendable sportsmanship and secured 2nd place.

The valedictory ceremony was graced by Mr Ivan Patrao, Patrao Caterers, Valencia, and Mr Pradeep D’Souza, District Skill Development Officer, as chief guests. Winners and runners were felicitated with trophies and cash prizes. On this occasion, Chris Anjen Baptist, a national-level badminton doubles player, was felicitated for his exceptional achievements. The event was concluded on a high note, celebrating the spirit of sportsmanship and camaraderie.