Building Bridges of Leadership: Father Muller Medical College’s Student Council 2023-2024 Takes Charge – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Building Bridges of Leadership: Father Muller Medical College’s Student Council 2023-2024 Takes Charge

April 16, 2024

Mangaluru, April 16, 2024: The atmosphere at Father Muller Medical College’s Decennial Memorial Hall was filled with anticipation and enthusiasm on Tuesday, April 16, 2024, as the investiture ceremony of the Student Council for the academic year 2023-2024 unfolded. The ceremony, a hallmark of the institution’s commitment to nurturing leadership and excellence, was a grand affair attended by the management, staff, students, and esteemed guests.

The event was graced by Chief Guest Dr. Ganesh M. K. Prof., Head of the Department of Surgical Gastroenterology at Father Muller Medical College. The ceremony was presided over by Rev. Fr. Richard Aloysius Coelho, Director of Father Muller Charitable Institutions, along with Rev. Fr. Ajith Menezes, Administrator of Father Muller Medical College, and Dr. Antony Sylvan D’Souza, Dean of Father Muller Medical College.

The event began with a warm welcome speech by Ms. Vanshika Munjal, representative of the Cultural Committee, setting the tone for the ceremony. The names of the Student Council members were then read by Reverend Fr. Ajith B. Menezes, followed by the administration of the oath by Dr. Antony Sylvan Dsouza. 

In his address, Chief Guest Dr. Ganesh M. K. emphasized the importance of responsibility that comes with power. He urged the student leaders to strive for excellence and to build a good name for themselves.

Rev. Fr. Richard Aloysius Coelho spoke passionately about the skills needed to bridge gaps and emphasized the importance of communication in problem-solving. He urged the students to uphold the values of respect, love, and positivity and to be the light and salt that preserve goodness in society.

Mr. Prakyath P. Shetty, the Student Council President, spoke about the collective spirit of leadership, highlighting the need for empowering others and leaving a lasting impact. He emphasized that a good leader is one who makes others better, even in their absence, and focuses on creating beautiful memories. 

The ceremony concluded with a vote of thanks by Mr. Ajarya, General Secretary, expressing gratitude to all who contributed to the success of the event. The comperes, Bhavana and Joseline, ensured the smooth flow of the ceremony, adding to the overall grandeur of the occasion.

The members of the council are: 

  • Mr. Prakyath P. Shetty, Student Council President 
  • Mr. Ajarya, General Secretary
  • Ms. Vanshika Munjal Cultural Committee 
  • Mr. Adithya I. Raju Student Development Committee
  • Mr. Joseph P. Arnold Sports Committee
  • Ms. Melanie A. Lewis and Mr. Uma Karthik C. Magazine Committee
  • Ms. Aditi Zacharias, Media and Technical Committee
  • Mr. Shashank Shrey, Fine Arts Committee.

As the Student Council of Father Muller Medical College takes charge for the academic year 2023-2024, they carry with them the hopes and aspirations of their peers. With a commitment to excellence and a spirit of service, they are poised to make a positive difference in the college community and beyond, truly embodying the values instilled in them by their alma mater.