Virtual Get Together of Physics Faculty of SAC (Past & Present) held – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Virtual Get Together of Physics Faculty of SAC (Past & Present) held

September 16, 2020

Mangaluru: The Department of Physics, St Aloysius College Autonomous, Mangalore, recently organized Virtual Get Together (VGT) of the faculty of the department of Physics both past and present with the representatives of their families along with distinguished Alumni.

The meeting was attended by Prof.  Stephen  Joseph Cheriyil from Kerala and Mr Anto Simon from USA representing Prof V.J. Joseph who served in the Physics Dept from 1917-1947,  Dr M Ravindranath Nayak, former Head, Aerospace Electronics & Systems Division, National Aerospace Laboratories,  (NAL), Bangalore, M Narendranath Nayak, former Head of Indian Subsidiary Synchronoss Technologies Inc, Mahendra Nayak M. who retired as Associate Professor, PES University representing Prof Sadananda Nayak  who served in the department of Physics from 1941 to 1976, Mr Denzil Castelino, Owner, Romantic Stores, Mangalore representing Prof. Alban Castelino (1949-1980), Sri  S. Govindaraja Bhat, B.Tech, Retd. GM, KIOCL Ltd representing Sri Mahalinga Bhat. Former faculty members, K V Rao, Prof FJM Crasta, Dr Sudhakar Rao and JWF Saldana were present in the meeting while Prof I V Rao was represented by his son Sri Shivaprakash Rao, Consulting Professional.

The virtual gathering began with a prayer song sung by GanapraveenaYogeesha Sharma Ballapadavu. Dr PrakashKamath, Dean of Physical Sciences welcomed the gathering and Dr Chandrashekar Shetty T, Head, PG Dept of Physics proposed the vote of thanks.

The formal function began with opening remarks by Rev Fr Leo D Souza, SJ, Former Principal and Rector of St Aloysius Institutions and a message by Rev. Fr Praveen Martis, SJ, Principal, St Aloysius College (Autonomous). Prominent Alumni of the College Prof Raghuram, (Director BITS Pilani, Goa Campus) and Sri SR Bhat (Former Group General Manager, MRPL) shared their experiences in the college while Prof. Lawrence J M Pinto, Dr.Chandrashekar Shetty T, Dr.Sarfraz Hasim, Dr.Nilakanthan, Sri Shawn D’Souza and Sri Harshith Spoke about their teachers.

The programme which was attended by many more faculty members and students was compered by Ms.Sonali Noronha.