St Aloysius B. Ed College, Mangaluru inaugurates students ‘council – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

St Aloysius B. Ed College, Mangaluru inaugurates students ‘council

May 15, 2022

Mangaluru, May 14: St Aloysius B. Ed College inaugurated the students’ council for the academic year 2022-23. The programme held at the College Auditorium. The programme began with a prayer song. Dr Abdul Khader A. A., Retd Principal, KPT (Evening), Mangaluru, was the Chief Guest. The chief Guest inaugurated the programmed by lighting the lamp.

In his address, the Chief Guest mentioned that having a students’ council in an institute is an opportunity for the students to learn the skills of leadership and discharge their responsibilities in various fields. It develops democratic and socialistic values. It promotes a better learning environment and develops a stronger sense of membership and commitment to organize activities for the betterment of the institute. He also enlightened the gathering on the appropriate usage of social media and the need to filter information before accepting them as the truth.

Dr Mrs Farita Viegas, Principal, congratulated the new office bearers and said that a leader has to work together and be of service to others and that cohesiveness takes us forward.

Rev Fr Dr Praveen Martis SJ, the Director of the College shed light on how a leader has to walk an extra mile in order to serve. He invited the new office bearers to inculcate values of Jesuit Education, namely, competence, commitment, compassionate and consciousness.  

Mrs Sandhya, Asst Professor, administered the oath to the following elected members of students’ council: Sr Eulalia Lobo BS (student president), Preethi Shainy Pais (student vice-president), Harish Kumar SJ(sports secretary), Preemal Maria D’Almeida (cultural secretary)and methodology secretaries: Fr Santhosh D’Souza (Social Science), Rishel D’Souza (English) and Akshay Kumar (Science).

Suphala Kamath rendered the welcome addres. Srilakshmi introduced the Chief Guest to the Audience. Vrinda, proposed the vote of thanks. Ashlyn Tini Pinto compered the programme. Mrs Joshna B, staff in-charge, organised the programme.