Athena Institute of Health Sciences, Mangaluru, holds Annual Sports Meet – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Athena Institute of Health Sciences, Mangaluru, holds Annual Sports Meet

March 1, 2024

Mangaluru: The Annual sports meet of the Athena Institute of Health Sciences was conducted on February 29, 2024, at Mangala Stadium, Mangaluru. The inaugural program began by invoking God’s blessings through a prayer song. It started with a march past led by the Athena College band, followed by the athletes and all the batches of Allied, GNM, B.Sc. (N), and PB.B.Sc. (N) students.

The Chief Guest, Dr. Ashith Shettian, Trustee, Athena Institute of Health Sciences, inaugurated the program by hoisting the college flag and releasing balloons. Prof. Sr. Deepa Peter, Principal of Athena Institute of Health Sciences; Prof. Sr. Aileen Mathias, Vice Principal, Athena College of Nursing; Dr. Nandini M., Principal, Athena Institute of Allied Health Sciences Mrs. Priyanka DSouza, Mrs. Viola Felicita DSouza, and Ms. Kavana Poojary sports coordinators and HODs were present on the dias. The faculty of Allied and Nursing courses, Physical Directors Mr. Dayananda Mada and Mr. Praveen Kumar, and Band Master Mr. Vijay Olivera were present during the event.

Mrs. Viola Felicita DSouza, SNA advisor, extended a warm welcome to the gathering. Krida Jyothi was done by the best athletes of the institutions, and the torch signified the spirit of true sportsmanship. Dr. Ashith Shettian declared the sports meet 2024 open, followed by an oath-taking ceremony proposed by Mrs. Priyanka DSouza. The Chief Guest emphasized the importance of acquiring sportsmanship and wished all the best to the students. Sr. Deepa Peter, in her speech, congratulated the winners and motivated the students to actively participate in all the events.

The inaugural program came to an end with a vote of thanks proposed by Ms. Kavana Poojary, Lecturer of Allied Health Sciences. The students participated in various sports competitions with great zeal and enthusiasm. Ms. Rose Mary and Ms. Sampritha, 3rd year B.Sc. nursing students, compered the program.