Student Council Election held in St Philomena College Puttur – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Student Council Election held in St Philomena College Puttur

October 24, 2022

Puttur: A democratic Student Council Election was held in St Philomena College Puttur, which is one among the prestigious Mai De Deus Educational institutions. The election was held under the directions of the Chief Election Officer Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro, Principal of the College. Campus Director Rev. Fr Stany Pinto was present during the Election proceedings. Student Welfare Officers Dr Chandrashekar K Associate Professor, Dept of Physics and Mrs. Bharathi S Rai, HOD of English conducted the Election. Vice Principals of the College Prof. Ganesh Bhat and Dr A.P.Radhakrishna along with Faculty members contributed for the functioning of this unique activity. There were six contestants, two each for the posts of President, Secretary, and Joint Secretary respectively. Johnviston Titus Dais of III BCA and Mohammad Ashik of III B. Com contested for the post of President and Mohammad Ashik emerged as the winner. Anushree K of III BCA and Raksha Anchan of III B.Sc. contested for the post of Secretary and Anushree K elected as Secretary. Nayana of III B.Sc. and Shivani of III B. Com contested for the post of Joint Secretary and chosen as Joint Secretary by the electorate.

Principal of the College Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro in his address while congratulating the winners in the Election spoke on the rich legacy of the college in molding and producing great personalities who are serving across the globe in various capacities, may it be in the areas Service, Politics, Education or in home making. It is necessary that one should get into the shoes of those torch bearers and bring fame to the College.  Further he appreciated the student body for maintaining the decorum of the Institution and called for a responsible attitude towards the student’s responsibilities.

Dr Vijaya Kumar Moleyar, HOD of Kannada, Shri Vinaya Chandra, Dean and HOD of Computer Science, Dr Radhakrishna Gowda, Dean and HOD of Dept of Business Administration, Shri Vasudeva N HOD of Dept of Economics along with other members of the faculty extended support in the smooth conduct of the Student Council Election.