St Aloysius holds Intercollegiate Hindi Fest ‘Prerana 2024’ – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

St Aloysius holds Intercollegiate Hindi Fest ‘Prerana 2024’

March 7, 2024

Mangaluru: The Department of Hindi, St Aloysius (Deemed to be University) organised an Intercollegiate Hindi Fest ‘Prerana 2024’ on the theme ‘Kshithij ke Par’ on March 6, 2024, in L.F. Rasquinha Hall of the institution.

Mrs. Renu K. Nair, General Manager of Union Bank of India, Mangaluru, was the Chief Guest. Rev. Dr Praveen Martis, SJ, Vice Chancellor in- Charge of St Aloysius (Deemed to be University), Mangaluru, presided over the program. Mr. John Abraham, the TOLIC Chairman, was the guest of honour. Dr Mukunda Prabhu, HOD of Hindi; Dr Charles V. Furtado, Director, Admin Block; Ms Shyla DSouza, Coordinator; and Mr. Shanif Abubaker, Student Coordinator, were on the dais.

Mrs. Nair, in her address, emphasized the pivotal role of Hindi and urged students to consider it as a viable career path. She highlighted the importance of Hindi and career options for students who opted for Hindi.

Rev. Dr Praveen Martis, in his presidential remarks, said that the department of Hindi has been organizing such intercollegiate fests for the past 30 years. The Department is also very vibrant and always organizes such unique events.

The fest served as a platform to showcase the remarkable talents and enthusiasm of students in various Hindi-centric activities, fostering a deeper appreciation for the language and its cultural significance. The successful event highlighted the commitment of the organizing committee and the participants towards promoting Hindi language and culture within the academic community.

There were 150 students from 24 colleges who participated in this fest. St Agnes College (Autonomous), Mangaluru, won the overall championship.

Ms. Shaina compered the program. Dr Govind Thapa Chetry welcomed the gathering. Shanif Abubaker proposed the vote of thanks.

The valedictory event, chaired by Dr Charles V. Furtado, Director of Admin Block, featured Rev. Fr. Vincent Pinto as the Chief Guest. Dr Mukunda Prabhu, HOD of the Hindi department, Mrs. Shyla D’Souza, Ms. Lilu Kumari Rajak, Dr Govind Thapa Chetry, Mr. Shanif Abubaker, and Ms. Fathima Nashwa were also present.

Ms Lilu Kumari Rajak was welcomed, and Mrs. Shyla D’Souza proposed the vote of thanks during the valedictory.