SAC holds Webinar on “National Education Policy 2020” – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

SAC holds Webinar on “National Education Policy 2020”

September 4, 2020

Mangaluru: St Aloysius College (Autonomous) Mangalore and Centre for Educational and Social Studies, Bengalurujointly organised a webinar on “National education Policy 2020” (Policy Vision and Higher Education) on 25th august 2020.

Around 800 participants joined the webinar from different institutions and cities.

Rev Dr Praveen Martis,S.J, Principal, St Aloysius College (Autonomous) welcomed the resource persons and the participants.

Dr Richard Gonsalves, Director LCRI & DDU Kaushal Kendra introduced the experts.

The webinar included three sessions. The resource persons for the sessions were prof. M K Sridhar member, Committee for draft NEP, member, UGC and President, CESS, Dr Leena Chandran Wadiya Chief Consultant Committee for draft NEP and Dr Padmavati B S Convener, Sub Committee Task Force on Implementation of NEP in Karnataka (KSHEC, GOK) Director, CESS.

Prof. M.K Sridhar mentioned that there are three types of higher educationInstitutions. Firstly Degree intensive, Teaching intensive and Research intensive. He also highlighted that National Education Policy (NEP)-2020 could transform India as an equitable and vibrant knowledge society through provision of high quality education to all, could enhance conscious awareness of one’s roles and responsibilities in changing the world through appropriate curriculum and pedagogy and could develop knowledge, skills, values and dispositions that support commitment to human rights, sustainable development, living and global well being. Then after,

Dr Leena Chandran Wadiya spoke on the importance of early education, the medium of instruction and new curriculum structure.

Dr Padmavati B.S presented on the key changes proposed in the NEP which aims at transforming higher education system gradually

All the questions asked by the participants were answered by the experts.

Dr AlwynD’Sa, Controller of Examinations, St Aloysius College (Autonomous) delivered the vote of thanks.