Investiture Ceremony of the Students’ Council of St Aloysius College (Autonomous) held – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Investiture Ceremony of the Students’ Council of St Aloysius College (Autonomous) held

September 23, 2020

Mangaluru: The Investiture Ceremony of the Students’ Council of St Aloysius College  (Autonomous), Mangalore took place on the 22nd of September 2020 at 3:00 P.M. 30 Students’ Council members joined the ceremony via Zoom and the ceremony was broadcasted through the online streaming platform, YouTube. 

Dr Anil Joseph Pinto, Registrar of Christ University, was the Chief Guest of the occasion. Rev. Fr Melwin Pinto SJ, Rector of St Aloysius Institutions, presided over the programme. Rev. Fr Praveen Martis SJ, Principal of St Aloysius College, graced the occasion with his presence. The Director of the Students’ Council, Dr Ratan Tilak Mohunta, and the Asst. Director, Dr Santhosh Wilson Goveas, were present on the dais.

The programme began with an invocation of God’s blessing through a prayer song.  The Welcome Address was delivered by Dr. Ratan Tilak Mohunta, Director of Students’ Council. 

Rev Fr. Praveen Martis SJ administered the oath to the President, Mr. Gavin Abner Pinto, after which the President administered the oath to the Vice President, Ms. Aparna Prashanth, Secretary, Ms. Sneha Dsouza, Joint Secretary, Mr. Steeve Thomas Shaji, Cultural Secretary, Ms. Paloma Rodrigues, Sports Secretary, Mr. Yusuf Shaheer, the Principal’s Nominees, Mr. Aditya Kamath and Ms. Anoma Nehel Lobo and the rest of the Class Representatives and Association Secretaries. 

The President, Mr Gavin Abner Pinto, spoke about how he, along with his team, wish to make valuable contributions to the college. “ If you want to shine like the sun, first, you must burn like it, there is no responsibility without accountability”, said Mr. Abner.

In his address, the Chief Guest, Dr Anil Joseph Pinto, spoke of his experiences during his college education. “Undergraduate is the most important period in one’s life”, said Dr Anil. He also stressed on the importance of shattering gender roles in leadership.

In his Presidential Address, Rev. Fr Melwin Pinto SJ gave his words of wisdom to the council members. “The students have elected you and that makes it special, because somewhere along the line, you’ve won their hearts, and now you have to live up to their expectations”, said Fr Melwin Pinto.

The Principal, Rev Dr. Praveen Martis SJ, congratulated the Students’ Council members and gave them his words of encouragement. He also wished them courage and wisdom to face any challenges that may come their way.

The Controller of Examination, Dr Alwyn D’Sa, the Finance Officer, Rev Fr. Vincent Pinto SJ, Dean of the Xavier’s Block, Dr John E D’Silva, Dean of the Admin Block, Dr Norbert Lobo. Dean of the Arrupe Block, Dr Dennis Fernandes, Dean of Physical Sciences, Dr Prakash Kamath were also present.

Ms. Aparna Prasahnth, Vice President, delivered the Vote of Thanks and the event was compered by Dr Senek D’Souza, Dean of Human Resource.