Dr.John Edward D’Silva Reelected as President of St Christopher Association (R), Mangaluru – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Dr.John Edward D’Silva Reelected as President of St Christopher Association (R), Mangaluru

August 7, 2023

Mangaluru: The Annual Feast and Annual General Body Meeting of St. Christopher Association (R) was held on August 6, 2023.

In the morning, Emiratus Bishop, Most Rev. Dr Aloysius Paul DSouza, celebrated the Holy Mass at Rosari Cathedral and blessed the vehicles of members.

Later, the General Body of the Association was held at the Rosario Cultural Hall, Mangaluru. Bishop Aloysius was present as the President of the function. Mrs. Sandra Maria Loreen, General Manager, Karnataka Bank, was the Chief Guest.

During the function, the children of the members of the association who secured distinctions and Ranks in their academic studies were honoured with cash prizes and Gifts. Also, the children of the members were given cash assistance for Books, etc.

Kum. Primal Furtado, a daughter of the member, was honoured for her securing a place in National Level Pistol Shooting, and member, Sri Denzil Antony Lobo was felicitated for his winning the “Great Agriculturist Award” in the Integrated Agriculture System.

In her speech, the Chief Guest lauded the good work and various useful programmes being conducted by the Association for its members and wished every success to this 56-year-old St. Christopher Association.

In his presidential message, Bishop Aloysius, while congratulating the children for their academic achievement, advised them not to seek jobs in foreign countries. Instead, they work in their own country, India, by being helpful to their parents and giving name and fame to society as well as their own country.

At the beginning, Assn. President Dr John D’Silva welcomed the gathering. Secretary Sri Sunil Lobo read the 2022–23 period annual report, which was accordingly adopted and passed. M/s Sunil Gonsalves, Chartered Accountants, Mangalore, has been appointed as the auditor for the period 2023–24. Mr John Baptist Gomes, Vice President, proposed a Vote of Thanks. Mrs. Leena D’Souza and Mr. Lancy D’Cunha, members of the association, compered the whole programme. Mr Jerald DSouza, assistant secretary, was present at the function.