Annual Day Celebration of the PTA and Alumni Association at St Philomena College, Puttur – KONKANCATHOLIC.COM

Annual Day Celebration of the PTA and Alumni Association at St Philomena College, Puttur

July 2, 2023

“A successful life is guaranteed when discipline and time are valued as priorities.” Retd. Major General Indian Army, M. V. Bhat

Puttur: The Annual Day Celebration of the PTA and Alumni Association of St Philomena College was organised on June 27 at the SJM Hall of the College. Indian Army Retd. Major General M V Bhat, a 1967 batch student of St Philomena College, participated as the Chief Guest and said, “Every student needs to have a passion to achieve in life. It is the bounden duty of the youth to strengthen the Indian Armed Forces. This can be possible only when there is a strong impulse to put into action the dream of joining the prestigious Indian Armed Forces. It is always necessary to have a sense of time and discipline in life to achieve extraordinary goals”. 

Mrs Rani Shetty, in charge of Bangalore City Police’s ‘Parihar, went nostalgic about her college life here on campus and said, “St Philomena College is a name nationwide. It is known to the students only when they complete their studies and are in faraway places busy with our life’s challenges.” Mrs Shetty also urged that young girls and women should be doubly cautious in their work places, on social media, and in places where they keep moving. Education obtained at the right time and in the right place will always be useful for a better living in this society.

Former PTA president and JCI Trainer Sri Purandara Rai Mithrampady expressed his goodwill towards the college.

The president of the function, Very Rev. Fr Lawrence Mascarenhas, Presided over the programme and said that “the relationship and the bond between the college and PTA/Alumni should be further strengthened. A helping hand is always solicited from the Alumni. All are expected to think in this direction.”

Achievers in NCC Sports were honoured on the occasion. Scholarships were presented to eligible students. Prizes distributed. Faculty members were honoured for their achievements in their respective fields.

Rev. Dr Antony Prakash Monteiro, Principal, Rev. Fr Stany Pinto, Campus Director, Prof. Ganesh Bhat and Dr AP Radhakrishna, Vice Principals of the College, Prashanth Rai, Secretary PTA, Thejaswi Bhat, Secretary Alumni Association, and Abhishek Suvarna, Treasurer, were graciously Present on the dais. Mrs Varija and her team rendered prayer. A. Jagajeevandas Rai,President of the Alumni Association, welcomed Krishnaprasad Alva, President of PTA, proposed a vote of thanks. Smt. Prathima Hegde introduced the guests. Dhanya PT and Johnson D. Sequeira announced the names of the achievers and prize winners. Chandraksha Peradka compered the programme. A cultural programme by the alumni followed the formal programme.