Mangaluru: Intercollegiate Literature Fest ‘Gitanjali’ organized at St Agnes College

Mangaluru: The Department of English, St Agnes College organized an Intercollegiate Literature Fest ‘Gitanjali’ on 6 September, 2019, to commemorate the 157th birth anniversary of Rabindranath Tagore. 

The fest began with the inaugural programme. Dr Ammalu Kutty, Retd Prof. University College, Mangalore was the Chief Guest and Dr Sr M Jeswina A.C presided over the programme. The programme began by invoking the blessings of the Almighty by rendering a prayer song written by Tagore. 

Dr Ammalu in her address said that, although these kinds of programmes have become an academic necessity, it is still nice to organize such programmes. All colleges should take initiative to conduct such programmes in order to familiarize the present generation with the rich culture of Indian Literature. She elaborated on the life of Tagore and how his writings are relevant in the contemporary world. She also spoke about Tagore’s ideas about freedom and confinement. She appreciated his clarity of thinking where he said “Construction is better than destruction.” She congratulated the Department of English for organizing such an event. 

The Principal in her presidential address spoke about the importance of Tagore’s works with special reference to ‘Gitanjali,’ Tagore’s collection of poems. She motivated the participants to give their best. Rabindranath Tagore’s popular short story ‘Kabuliwala’ was dramatized by the students of the Western Dramatics club of the college as a part of the inaugural. 

The competitions were based on the Life and works of Rabindranath Tagore. The following competitions were conducted: Pencil sketch, Paper Presentation, Poetry Recitation, Quiz and Group Singing. There was good participation and competitive spirit from the participants from various colleges of Mangalore. 

The fest ended with the valedictory programme where Sr Dr M Venissa A.C, Vice Principal of the college was the chief guest. St Aloysius College won the Runners up trophy and SDM College, Mangalore, emerged as the winners of the overall trophy. 

Leave Your Comment